Chapter 1: Welcome to the Journey-The Journey Begins; Day842

Book-The Journey – How To Live By Faith In An Uncertain Word
Author-Billy Graham
ISBN-10: 0849918871
Pages: 320
Chapters: 30

CHAPTER 1 – WELCOME TO THE JOURNEY
I came today to the well and said, O Lord, God of my master Abraham, if You are now causing me to go on my way prosperously Genesis 24:42

You can’t change the past, but you can change the future.
The future does not need to be a copy of the past, nor does God want it to be
Architects draws the plan for a new building, but it still has to be built
God gave us the blueprint for living , but we must know what it is and then put into action
Life is a journey, it has a starting point
Life is a journey, it has an end
Like any other journey, there is also a middle part [we are in the middle of the  journey]

WHAT KIND OF JOURNEY?
1. Disappointment
2. Sorrows
3. Heartache
3. Sickness
4. Fear
5. Guilt
6. Loneliness
7. Despair

CAN LIFE BE ANY DIFFERENT?
With God’s help, you can begin again

3 GREAT TRUTHS ABOUT THE JOURNEY
1. God put you on the journey of life
2. God wants us to join us in this journey
3. God calls us to a new journey

CHANGE TO GOD’s Path-A JOURNEY WITH GOD
REASONS:
1. The old path will not deliver what it promises
2. God’s path will always deliver what He promises
3. It leads us home-eternal home


PLAN:
Daily Bible Devotional
Journal
Workout-25yd sub-surface swim +1Mile swim

READING LIST:
Book-Permanent Innovation p.143
Book-The Journey, By Billy Graham p.12

TIMELINE:
0700, End of Sleep,
0900, Celebration Church
1000, Celebration Church
1200, 25yd sub-surface swim +1Mile swim
1400, Nap

THE DAY BEFORE:
Yesterday [Saturday], I was doing my own shopping around of tech stuff but was not happy with the outcome. My 16 years old son called me that he was with Britta [my wife] shopping for school supplies. I told him that I will meet them as I am getting closer to their location. After 10 minutes, we met at the parking lot and then went inside a “woman” store. Me and Brent looked at each other and then I signaled him that we need to vacate to a better “manly” venue or else we get bored waiting and also irritate the other shopper. I told him about the a new Half-Price Book Store just recently opened nearby and suddenly in unison told Britta “take your time Mom, we are going to the bookstore”. After a few walking around wondering at the ‘business section’ of the bookstore, I came across the ‘Christian section’. I browsed the used books with my head in horizontal position since the books were arranged in an upright position. It took a while and I keep telling myself “show me a good book to read”. After 5 minutes of looking, there it was – I found a treasure – The Journey by Billy Graham. In the Half-Price bookstore, you can read the entire book in the reading lounge but that was not my intention that evening. I sat down and browsed the chapters and started reading chapter1. Twenty minutes later, I bought “The Journey” and then Brent bought
Fiesta-The Sun also Rises by Ernest Hemingway.

The reason why I mentioned the mechanics of how I got this book is to show an example of how I can change something in the future as mentioned in Chapter1. I was wondering of what else can I do with this material. Then I remember – maybe I can share this information through my journal and others will have an interest on the same journey also. I will not divulge too much information here but will write down the highlights.

To Brittney and Brent – “ Please read when you discover this book in my bookshelf. ”.

To those reading this journal, I want you to read the book yourself, it is very enlightening [I think]. I will be using this book as the source of my daily journal entry for 30 days. I hope that you too will join me in the study.

 

Leave a comment